

Third Session (069)

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

COUNTY ASSEMBLY OF SAMBURU THIRD ASSEMBLY - THIRD SESSION ORDER PAPER

WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 25TH, 2024 AT 2:30 PM

PRAYERS

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- **3.** Messages
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers
- **6.** Notices Motion
- 7. Statements
- 8. *Motion

AWARE that concerns have been raised by various members (through requests for statements) regarding the management of the bursary fund, including issues related to the issuance of bouncing cheques, the qualifications of the bursary coordinator, and the failure to disburse bursaries to students studying in secondary schools outside Samburu County;

FURTHER AWARE that there are ward fund bursaries that were allocated in the budget for the fiscal years 2022/2023 and 2023/2024], which have not been distributed, exacerbating existing concerns;

NOTING the critical role that the bursary fund plays in supporting the education of students from Samburu County and ensuring equitable access to educational resources;

CONCERNED that the lack of effective oversight and timely response to these issues may hinder the educational aspirations of many deserving students;

THEREFORE, this **ASSEMBLY RESOLVES** to form an Ad Hoc Committee to investigate and address the following issues:

(No.057) (070)

1. **Management of the Bursary Fund:** Evaluate the current management practices and propose necessary reforms.

- 2. **Issuance of Bouncing Cheques:** Investigate the causes of this issue and recommend solutions to ensure reliable financial transactions.
- 3. **Qualifications of the Bursary Coordinator:** Assess whether the current bursary coordinator meets the qualifications stipulated in the Samburu County Bursaries Act, 2015.
- 4. **Failure to Disburse Bursaries:** Investigate the reasons for the non-disbursement of bursaries to students studying in secondary schools outside Samburu County, as well as the unallocated ward fund bursaries for fiscal years 2022/2023 and 2023/2024. Provide recommendations for corrective actions.

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Ad Hoc Committee shall consist of the following members:

- 1. Hon. Phelix Lenamparasio
- 2. Hon. Ether Lenolkulal
- 3. Hon. Patrick Leerte
- 4. Hon. Osman Dube
- 5. Hon. Francis Lemartile
- 6. Hon. Christopher Lentukunye
- 7. Hon. Silapia Lenamatiyo

REPUBLIC OF KENYA



ADJOURNMENT OF THE ASSEMBLY

ION MEMBERS,
THE TIME BEING MINUTES O'CLOCK AND THER
BEING NO OTHER BUSINESS, THIS ASSEMBLY NOW ADJOURNS UNTIL THURSDA
6th SEPTEMBER AT 2 30PM