COUNTY ASSEMBLY OF SAMBURU



THE HANSARD

Wed 19, September, 2024

The Assembly met at the County Assembly Chambers at 2.30 PM

Temporary Speaker, (Hon Lenamparasio Phelix) in Chair

PRAYER

NOTICES OF MOTION

Temporary Speaker, (Hon. Lenamparasio Phelix): Hon. Lemartile

MCA Wamba West Ward, (Hon. Lemartile Francis): Thank you Hon. Speaker, Hon. Speaker, pursuant to standing order No. 47, I beg to give a notice of the following motion. AWARE THAT; the concern has been raised by various members through request for statement regarding he management of the bursary funds including issues related to the issuance of bouncing cheque, the qualifications of bursary coordinator and the failure to disburse bursaries to students studying in secondary schools outside Samburu County.

Further **AWARE THAT**; there are Ward funds bursaries that were allocated to the budget for the fiscal year 2022/2023 and 2023/2024 which have not been disbursed exacerbating existing concern noting the critical role that the bursary funds plays in supporting education of students from Samburu County and ensuring equitable access to educational resource.

Concern that, lack of effective oversight and timely respond to this issue may hinder educational aspiration of many deserving students. Therefore this Assembly resolves to form an *Ad Hoc* committee to investigate and address the following issues.

- 1. Management of the bursary funds, evaluate the current management practices and propose necessary reforms
- 2. Issuance of bouncing cheque, to investigate the causes of this issue and recommend solutions to ensure reliable financial transactions
- 3. Qualifications of bursary coordinator, assess whether the current bursary coordinator meets the qualifications stipulated in the bursary County bursary act 2015 for Mr. Speaker failure to disburse bursary, investigate the reasons for the non-disbursement of bursary funds to students studying in secondary schools outside Samburu County as well as unallocated Ward funds bursaries for the fiscal year 2022/2023 and 2023/2024.

Provide recommendations for correctives actions, further resolves that the *Ad Hoc* committee shall consist of the following Members;

- 1. Hon. Phelix Lenamparasio
- 2. Hon. Esther Lenolkulal

- 3. Hon. Patrick Leerte
- 4. Hon. Osman Dube
- 5. Hon. Francis Lemartile
- 6. Hon. Christopher Lentukunye
- 7. Hon. Silapia Lenamatiyio

Thank you Hon. Speaker

ADJOURNMENT

Hon. Members the time being 12 minutes to 3 o'clock and there being no other business, this Assembly now adjourns until Tuesday 24th September at 2:30pm.